top of page

Week 3 - Part 1: Some Changes and A look into Seamounts

Updated: Oct 19, 2019

Week three started with a workshop and then just studio discussions with Adam about our current interests in the themes we have decided to take forward. During that session, we got to hear lots of people's different opinions on different themes people have chosen and what they think about what others are going forward with. We all got a lot of constructive criticism during the process.

After that, we had mini discussion with just Adam about our themes and during that process I figured that I still feel a bit unsure about the theme Homecoming and Journeys. I seemed to not figure out a way of narrowing it down, and all I could think about is the feeling that people must feel when they are returning home after a long journey. Feeling of stress, anxiety, doubt, when one doesn't like returning in a house where you feel hopeless or a house where you cant seem to get along with your family, so I changed this theme to Stress and Anxiety. It became pretty obvious to me that i felt more connected to the topic of Homecoming because of my own emotions behind it. It wasn't the action of returning home that seemed more exciting to me, but the emotions that I felt within myself every time I got back.



After finalizing my theme, I repeated the activity of asking questions based on it to get a better idea of where I wanted to go with it. In my head, I seemed to be more focused on the "How do things like deep breathing and yoga help with stress and anxiety?" aspect of this and wanted to further look into it.


The Next few sections of my blog posts would be about the 4 final topics that I chose and the brief research I did of them.

 
Seamounts

I found some very intriguing things about Seamounts when I was doing research on it. All I knew beforehand was that seamounts were submerged mountains formed by volcanic activities and they provide nutrition to all the life around it.

After digging a little more into it and watching some documentaries on it, I came across various things that makes them so special and unique. I looked into how it provides biodiversity, how it helps with the flow of deep ocean currents and provides nutrition through them. I was baffled by how many interesting facts I found online. There was an aspect of togetherness that I felt when I was looking into it. How different species of fish, whales and sharks travel hundreds of miles to get a little bit of the goodness from the seamounts. There is still so much that mankind has not discovered yet about the oceans, seamounts, whats under the deepest and darkest parts of the ocean.

Another aspect of Seamounts that I looked into was the relation between corals and the mountains. Deep sea corals require a solid surface to grow on and these beautiful corals flourish around the seamounts. Its fascinating to me how these corals create a dense underwater forest that provides diversity and supports hundreds of different species of fish and worms. I am very much interested in taking this topic forward and if I do, I would like to look into life on the surface of seamounts and how it supports the life in the deep seas. There are so many different things I could possibly look into like, water pollution and how it affects the underwater life around the Seamounts, and how the ecosystem works around it.

Here are some links that I looked into while I was researching this topic:



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page